top of page

Day #95: Little Nemo and the Bejewelled Round-Up

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated August 04, 1905:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (AUGUST 30, 2020):


Before even reading the page panel by panel, I was taken by the formal simplicity of this strip. It isn't often that McCay uses regular panels in a regular grid (I'm not really counting panel 7 here), so it stood out. - 1/14

That said, what it lacks in formal complexity it makes up for in narrative interest. I want to focus here on the relationship between the Candy Kid and the Princess. - 2/14

Of note is the fact that the Princess seems to have reverted back to her old ways in this strip. By that, I mean that she is harping on Flip's slowness of speed (panel 2) and trying to convince Nemo to leave him behind (panel 4). - 3/14

I don’t know if I'm surprised, but I am disappointed. I'm sure that returning home has brought back to the front of the Princess' mind all of the pressures and responsibilities that are associated with being Slumberland royalty… - 4/14

…but I thought that after all Flip had done to assist, guide, and support the trio during the more dangerous leg of their recent adventures, that her newfound respect (which I thought was burgeoning for him) would last more than a couple of strips. - 5/14

I'm particularly wondering if the pressures that the Candy Kid puts on the Princess play any role in this? The comments about them being late in panels 1 and 2, coupled with the judgmental comment/question in panel 5 and 6, could do it. - 6/14

Maybe, back at home, the Princess feels embarrassed by Flip and thus wants to distance herself from him and his mischievous new friend. - 7/14

To Nemo's credit, he continues to be firm and state his desires to the Princess rather than letting himself be dragged around as he has in the past. Sure, it's out of morbid curiosity regarding what chaos Impy will create next, but it's there nonetheless. - 8/14

I think the visual gag plays into this dynamic really well! Though the Princess may wish to be free of Flip and his shenanigans, they are "bound" together (in this case by shiny pirate booty) whether she likes it or not! - 9/14

That the wake-up panel brings a return to the familiar blending of external/dreaming-world experiences is welcome! The bedsheet (waking world) parallel to the string of jewels (dreamscape) fits well and is something that I quite enjoyed. - 10/14

I should also mention that I am very glad to see Nemo safe; waking up in time to save himself from the clutches of the bedclothes! - 11/14

Finally, I really like the continuity that McCay incorporates with the departure of the battleship in the left side of each panel. - 12/14

It not only reinforces the temporality of the strip (as we see it get farther and farther away), but also succeeds in tying together the serial story that McCay has shifted #LittleNemo to be. - 13/14

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #95. What's yours? - 14/14

bottom of page