top of page

Day #55: Little Nemo Descends

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated October 28, 1906:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (JULY 21, 2020):


Ok, everyone. I need your help with this strip. I've got a couple things that I want to mention, but I'm at a loss for what is actually happening here (beyond the plot)… hopefully someone can fill me in! - 1/11

So, as far as plot goes, this strip revolves around a Slumberlandian keeping Flip busy long enough for King Morpheus and the yet unseen Nemo and Princess to descend from the throne room into a secret underground room. - 2/11

The mechanism by which this occurs is a descending throne and carpet… how it does so silently enough not to tip off Flip is a mystery of the dreamscape. - 3/11

I really enjoy the moment-to-moment transitions here that show the descent slowly but surely… it ramps up the drama; with each successive panel, we get farther from Flip but there's always a chance he'll catch on… - 4/11

Which is exactly what happens in the penultimate panel. Our slow and methodical, panel-by-panel descent is made up in one swift downward motion by Flip, essentially undoing the events that proceed it. - 5/11

Now, this is where I'm at a loss and would really like someone's help… What in the world are the gods of Roman myth doing in this room? - 6/11

To be fair, I guess we can't definitively know that they ARE the gods of Roman myth… They're either a) the genuine articles or b) Slumberlandians dressed up as them. - 7/11

We can't discount the latter because this strip is coming out just before Halloween… A really brief review of Roman Myth and it's connection to Halloween reveals only the Lemuria, which likely has little to do with what we're discussing here: - 8/11

So… what gives? Why are Jupiter, Mars, Neptune, Mercury, Saturn, and Venus all hanging out in the dark underground room where Nemo, the Princess, and Morpheus descend into? - 9/11

I'd appreciate any thoughts on this because I don't even know where to begin with interpreting their presence… - 10/11

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #55. What's yours? - 11/11

bottom of page