top of page

Day #535: Little Nemo's a Gamblin' Man

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated October 03, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (JANUARY 10, 2022):


This time around, the gang does nothing wrong and trouble still finds them! - 1/10

Seems as though Flip's pig is a shoe-in to win the race (I wonder if he trained him?) and everyone at the track has bet on him to win! - 2/10

Thankfully, Nemo does his due diligence before placing his bet and chooses to put the money Flip asks him to bet down on the Goose instead of the pig! - 3/10

Truthfully, if it hadn't been for the nefarious intervention, the pig would've won… so maybe Nemo wasn't all that good at picking the winning "horse" here… - 4/10

But, regardless, Flip does win thanks to Nemo! Which sort of makes his outburst in the end quite funny. - 5/10

Now, the real commentary here (I think) is on the cheating perpetrated by the owner (I think) of the track. If this isn't an indictment of capitalism, I don't know what is! - 6/10

It's just like the rich to rig the game to work in their favour… even when the little guys do the right thing (bet the right animal, in this instance) they still lose. - 7/10

In panel 10, a random speech balloon declares that "I lose all I had on that goose"… This fellow *should* have won, but instead is now penniless. - 8/10

I suppose that there is also commentary about the danger of gambling here… had the fellow not bet all he had at the track, he'd have been fine, as well. I think the two readings can co-exist. - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #535. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page