top of page

Day #533: Little Nemo and the Kidnappers

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated September 19, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (JANUARY 8, 2022):


I'm particularly interested to hear what others think about this strip because I'm not entirely sure what to make of it… - 1/10

I wondered, at first, if this strip would be another of McCay's moral lessons about not trusting strangers, but the deceptions involved in the strip don't make that an obvious reading… - 2/10

Somehow, Flip is aware of this planned kidnapping attempt and he, Impie, and Slivvers put a plan in motion to catch the kidnappers… but how did this know about the plot? - 3/10

Furthermore, why do they want to kidnap Nemo and the Princess? It could simply be because, well… she's the wealthy Princess, but I wonder if that would be an obvious reason to young readers of this series? - 4/10

It's been a long time since the Pirate kidnapping incident, or even Nemo's kidnapping on Mars, and the affluence of the Slumberland royalty has been on display much less in the revival series… - 5/10

Regardless, the plan almost fails as the kidnappers too have disguised themselves… Flip sends Nemo and the Princess away with who they believe is Pill and Figures and almost ruins the whole plan! - 6/10

I have to give Slivvers credit where credit is due… he decides that "to be safe" he'll put the rope on the car and it turns out that this is exactly what saves the day. - 7/10

The strip ends without much having really occurred… the kidnappers plan fails, the boys catch them and bring them to jail. A pretty quick and clean series of events if you ask me. - 8/10

Ultimately, I don't see much special about this strip, but I'm open to having my position adjusted - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #533. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page