top of page

Day #532: Little Nemo's Vacation is Cut Short

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated August 12, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (JANUARY 7, 2022):


I actually quite enjoy this strip; I thought it was pretty funny, overall (even if I don't entirely get the joke about Flip's hat). - 1/16

For once, the boys don't seem to do really do anything that causes the trouble they find themselves in… it just sort of happens. - 2/16

The Princess brings a fairy, Miss Vacation, to meet the boys. Interestingly, she introduces Flip, Impie, and Slivvers as Nemo's "companions" and keeps them at a distance from her. - 3/16

I suppose that this isn't an entirely inaccurate introduction… the Princess has tended to avoid the shenanigans that Nemo and "his" friends have gotten into of late, so… - 4/16

In any case, it would seem as if Miss Vacation is not fond of Flip's hat? I tried to do some research to figure this out, but I didn't get far… does anyone get it? - 5/16

My best guess is that the brim wasn't big enough to protect Flip from the sun and therefore not god for a vacation? Maybe the length of the brim indicates the time of year? - 6/16

I really don't know… I'm guessing here. But I would love someone more in the know to explain this one to me… - 7/16

As Flip takes off the hat and punishes it against the ground, the fairy turns a dark brown and begins the process of blending into the foliage in the background. - 8/16

While I really liked the way that the technical process of the colouring played a major role in the narrative, I sort of wish it had been a slower burn. The two panel (6 & 6) change was quite abrupt. - 9/16

Also, while most characters are in generally the same spot in 7 as they were in 6, Impie has traversed the entirety of the panel to go from the left to the right side. - 10/16

This is clearly for balance across the panel (it would've looked crowded on the left), but I think the unbalance would've been impactful. The absence of body where the fairy used to be would've been quite affective, I think. - 11/16

The real gag of this strip is that once Miss Vacation fades away, so too does the foliage revealing a school house. Pill and Figures are ecstatic that the children are waiting in front of the building or school to start! - 12/16

They misinterpret their presence as excitement and I got a good laugh out of the series of events that led us all here to the school house. - 13/16

The moral of the story is that vacation's are fleeting and short and that we all end up back at the "real" world (ironic in this case) after a time… So, enjoy the time you have! - 14/16

Oh, and don't wear straw hats, obviously… - 15/16

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #532. What's yours? - 16/16

bottom of page