top of page

Day #527: Little Nemo and the Mystery of the Vanishing Ocean

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated August 08, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (DECEMBER 16, 2021):


So, this strip doesn't ever really give us the answer that I *think* it's safe to say everyone is craving… what actually happened to the ocean? - 1/11

It begins with the gang enjoying a swim, and finding themselves out maybe just a little too far, before the water begins to recede and they can suddenly touch the bottom… it's as if a plug has been pulled from the bottom of the ocean. - 2/11

At the bottom, we find that Doctors Pill and Figures have taken to diving down to the bottom of the ocean in an attempt to get a break from the gangs shenanigans. - 3/11

Of course, its hilarious to see this too be interrupted by the group. The intrusion actually made me laugh out loud… when I realized it was them in the scuba suits, that is. - 4/11

I truly love that iconic solidarity couldn't disrupt the flow of this strip, because Pill and Figures are unrecognizable in their suits! It's impossible to *know* (even if we guess) that it's them until they are speaking to one another. - 5/11

Of course, Pill and Figures blame Flip and the gang for this… which doesn't sit well with Flip. But… what *Actually* happened to the water? - 6/11

Unless I missed it, we just don't get an answer… at all. - 7/11

The mystery just sort of hovers, unresolved, at the end of the strip in favour of the blame game played between two nemesis'. What do we think of this? - 8/11

Finally, Slivvers reaction to Impie in panel 2 irks me… I truly wonder how his character was received by young readers of the time… I find him utterly unlikable, but I recognize that my reading of him is not likely a universal one. - 9/11

I know that we've talked a little about social position and hierarchy (and that the hierarchy of friendship could even come into play here), but I'm interested to hear some more thoughts here. - 10/11

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #527. What's yours? - 11/11

bottom of page