top of page

Day #525: Little Nemo and the Entrance in the Fountain

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated July 25, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (DECEMBER 13, 2021):


Ok. So what happened between the last strip and this one… because last we saw these folks they were holding a banquet for Flip and the boys! - 1/10

We seem to have reverted back to the old standard; being barred from entry/participation only to find some mischievous way into the action! - 2/10

This one is pretty straight forward, too! The boys use the tank that supplies the water to the fountain in the swimming pool as an entrance and launch their way into the fun! - 3/10

I have to say, I *really* liked the way this strip was drafted… having Pill point out the water tower instantly gave me "Chekov's gun" vibes and I literally yelled, I knew it! When I saw the boys climbing up in panel 4. - 4/10

Admittedly, I benefited from the material constraints that I was using when reading this strip… I had to scroll to the second tier, so I didn't immediately see the boys use the tank through iconic solidarity. - 5/10

Were I reading this in it's print form (through the Taschen, which I didn't have because I wrote this post at work) I likely wouldn't have had the same experience. - 6/10

I'll admit though, I enjoyed it immensely. I probably like this strip more than I should because I read it this way. How interesting. - 7/10

It's also an example of McCay's mastery of water detailing. I particularly like panel 6 and 9! - 8/10

Finally, Impie is included without question here and engages in the fun! He isn't used as a tool for a gag or anything like that, which is always a very nice thing to see. - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #525. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page