top of page

Day #521: Little Nemo and the Schoolhouse Riot

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated June 27, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (DECEMBER 8, 2021):


Listen, was it nice of Impie to toss that globe at Dr. Pill? No, no it wasn’t. Am I right glad he did? Yes, yes I am. - 1/9

I am so happy that we didn't have to sit through even a panel more of Pill's lecturing… I mean, does anyone get the joke in panel 5? Please explain it to me… - 2/9

Obviously, I think this is the point… the children readers of 1926 would be much more interested in the riot caused by the toss then the lecture… indeed, they'd likely have been ecstatic that the riot broke out, too! - 3/9

Again, Slivvers goes overboard (not a joke) with his punishment of Impie… I really do not like the dynamic that exists between these two characters and wish that Impie would whack him back. - 4/9

Flip doesn't make anything better with his reaction, either… tossing the globe into the room of students is likely to only increase the chaos, not make it any better! - 5/9

As for the other two, Nemo and the Princess are completely passive throughout the entire strip. Not only do they not *do* anything, but they also do not *say* anything… why exactly are they even there? - 6/9

In fact, if Pill is the speaker for the graduation, why are *any* of them even there? I doubt they'd be eager to hear Pill blather on about nothing… - 7/9

All together this leads to a rather forgetful entry into the series, in my opinion. What about all of you? - 8/9

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #521. What's yours? - 9/9

bottom of page