top of page

Day #515: Slivvers is a Hero?

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated May 09, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (NOVEMBER 30, 2021):


We've seen this exact style strip a couple of times previously (where the gang hides behind a short barrier and pegs unsuspecting characters with snowballs or, in this case, slingshots). - 1/10

This one reminded me most of this strip from all the way back in 1909: - 2/10

I actually sort of feel bad for Pill and Figures here… maybe it's because I'm old and identify with the adult characters here, but they're just minding their own business painting… - 3/10

…and these reprobates are antagonizing them! At least they lay off of Impie for this one, which I have to say is appreciated. - 4/10

Now, I need to start by admitting that this strip reinforces my dislike of Slivvers… That said, I think it's more my compounded biases than this strip in particular. - 5/10

Especially because Flip is really egging Slivvers on in this strip. - 6/10

I suppose though, in the end, it's a good thing that Slivvers had his trusty weapon with him… the random bull that comes out of nowhere to attack the gang might've gotten them otherwise. - 7/10

So, even though I am critical of Slivvers in this strip… and don't like the shenanigans that begin the strip… he still saves the day. - 8/10

Do I really have to give him credit for that? I don't want to… - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #515. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page