top of page

Day #514: Little Nemo and the Centaurs Arrive

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated May 02, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (NOVEMBER 29, 2021):


This is a bit of a differently structured strip because it eschews the grid structure that we've come to expect. - 1/7

It's interesting because it leads to an extra 2 tiers, but only one extra panel. The stretched horizontal panels work in a way that I don't think that a normal panel size would. - 2/7

The strip is really just a celebration of Spring… we've seen so many "Oh, the seasons are changing!" strips lately that I'm beginning to hate them as much as I used to hate the holiday ones… - 3/7

The inclusion of Centaurs doesn't even really offer much to me… I suppose it furthers the themes of Greek mythology that we've seen present throughout the series' life and it connects to Spring… - 4/7

But otherwise… it seems like it's mainly for kicking Flip and pulling the chariot… which, I mean… wouldn't a Centaur find that job a bit degrading? Couldn't a horse just do that? - 5/7

I'm interested to hear what others have found in their collaboration with this strip… I didn't really get much from mine… - 6/7

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #514. What’s yours? - 7/7

bottom of page