top of page

Day #512: Impie and the Automatic Sprinklers

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated April 18, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (NOVEMBER 27, 2021):


Ok, this strip is not Impie's fault… I mean, come on! If I'd have been sitting next to that lever, even *I* would've pulled it! - 1/10

As Flip mentions in panel 8, he should not have been sat there… frankly, I blame Slivvers (as I think Flip does, as well). He was the one beside him and should've done a better job planning it out. - 2/10

If there was anyone "to blame," it should've been Slivvers getting the hose, not Impie (though, I admit that I'm not a fan of Slivvers so maybe that's harsh too). - 3/10

Honestly, Impie was just doing Flip a favour! He was making the world match the song he was singing by bringing on the April showers! - 4/10

Either way, the punishment here simply doesn't fit the crime… Slivvers brutal take-down in panel 4 is the first moment Impie is scared (something Slivvers celebrates in panel 10) and that continues for the rest of the strip, too. - 5/10

I'm so over using Impie for cheap gags; if this continues unchanged its gunna be a long trek to 549… - 6/10

I guess the final questions that I have is, why do they all have to perform? What are they celebrating? Are they practicing for something or just providing the King with some entertainment? - 7/10

It's never explained and I'm interested in what the gang is doing there before the chaos starts. Maybe they're just spending time together, which is actually sort of nice. - 8/10

Even if that the case though, it sees Impie and Slivvers (the racial other and poor boy) somewhat ostracized as they're relegated to a backseat in the shadows. So, it maybe isn't as heartwarming as it might seem… - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #512. What’s yours? - 10/10

bottom of page