top of page

Day #508: Flip and the Golf Guffaw

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated March 21, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (NOVEMBER 22, 2021):


Well, if this strip doesn’t demonstrate Flip's stubbornness like never before, I don't know what it does! - 1/10

Oh, wait! That's right! It also abuses Impie for no reason at all… - 2/10

Again, I'm not really sure why Impie getting walloped needs to be included here… it sincerely adds nothing to the strip (other than reinforce that Flip cares more about the way he's looked at than his friends, I suppose). - 3/10

If we can find a silver lining here, it is that Nemo and the Princess offer Impie some kind comforts as he is hurting. I'd rather they not need to, but at least it's there. - 4/10

The humour from this strip is largely meant to be derived from the absurd and hyperbolic efforts that Flip goes to when trying to his the golf ball. - 5/10

In each successive panel, the hole gets larger and larger and larger until the penultimate panel when the entire surroundings begin to cave into the whole that Flip has literally dug himself. - 6/10

I do think that it does a good job demonstrating just how frustrating of a game golf is… I truly believe Flip when he says he's played before. If my golf game is any indication, anyway… - 7/10

Truth is though, this entire situation could've been avoided. Here's a small piece of advice, Flip… - 8/10

Use a tee. - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #508. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page