top of page

Day #504: Little Nemo Can Dance the Charleston

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated February 21, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (NOVEMBER 18, 2021):


This is a neat example (at least at the start) of a strip that is formed around an element of popular culture at the time of it's creation! - 1/11

"The Charleston" was an incredibly popular dance phenomenon in the 1920s and saw it's peak popularity between 1926-1927. Having it factor into this strip was a really cool historical moment: - 2/11

Of course, I think that there is a neat connection to be made today (I love these cross-temporal discussions) about TikTok and the dance crazes that are absorbing the interest and commitment of young people today. - 3/11

… Yes, I felt old writing that, but it's the truth. - 4/11

It also demonstrates how popular culture often reflects and refocuses itself or aspects of itself through other popular culture media. - 5/11

It's too bad that we only really get one dance panel; I'd have loved to see what McCay could do with gestural dance across multiple panels and tiers. I'd have much rathered this be the entire focus of the strip. - 6/11

Instead, we get a saxophone theft (sorry, borrowing), a massive excavator attack, and news of the King's new coliseum (we can only guess as to why he's building it). - 7/11

As Nemo, Slivvers, Flip, and Impie (who Flip makes a bit of a confusing comment to in panel 2 about his accompanying them that I think is a warning to behave) hide in the cave practicing Flip's new moves, they're assaulted by the excavator. - 8/11

I'll admit that I enjoyed the wordless panel 9. I thought it was a wonderful single moment of utter confusion (from Pill, Figures, and the Princess) and shock (from the boys). I laughed out loud! - 9/11

I don't think I'd have had the same reaction had their been words in that moment. It was very well done. - 10/11

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #504. What's yours? - 11/11

bottom of page