top of page

Day #500: Nemo! Nemo! Where For Art Thou Nemo?

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated January 24, 1926:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (NOVEMBER 14, 2021):


So, yet again, Impie seems to get blamed for the entire situation even though he is only one distraction among many… that's annoying. - 1/8

But, I will say, that I found the constant disruptions to Flip's artistic process here absolutely hilarious! - 2/8

It's a lot of repetition here, but Flip's increasingly agitated reaction makes the repetition humourous. Watching Flip stomp his feet and get angry as he tried to direct gave me the giggles! - 3/8

I want to draw attention to the final tier because McCay adds another panel here! I think it's clearly an addition of narrative requirement versus formal intention, but it's interesting. - 4/8

I don't have much else to say about this one… I enjoyed it and, as an English teacher, I found the R&J connection very delightful! - 5/8

I guess, as a final thought, I'll mention that the idea of children performing/making a movie is a fun one, as well. I remember playing similar games with my cousins when I was little so it struck a personal connection for me. - 6/8

Thankfully, our skits never really ended with such disastrous results! - 7/8

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #500. What's yours? - 8/8

bottom of page