top of page

Day #495: Little Nemo and Santa's Snowy Setback

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated December 20, 2021:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (NOVEMBER 8, 2021):


A lot of holiday elements that we've seen before being used here in this strip. From the mistletoe decorations in the panel corners, to Santa's famous car and the Christmas tree penultimate panel it's a lot of what we've seen before. - 1/10

This tracks with some of our past conversations about the way that these elements are popping up in an almost nostalgic way. It's fascinating to see so many of them appear here. - 2/10

I'm not really sure what to make of this strip… what is Santa implying in the penultimate panel? - 3/10

Was the Santa the boys stopped an "imposter" who stole Santa's car and gifts? Is the one in the penultimate panel the real Santa? - 4/10

I like this reading because it implies that the boys accidentally saved the day! Though I'm not sure that makes sense… I feel as though it could be a misreading… - 5/10

Alternatively, Santa somehow finds a way to get to the palace before the boys arrive in the car… I mean… he is magic, so that is probably the most likely scenario. - 6/10

The real trouble between these readings comes from Santa's comment: "that’s the party I passed… impersonating me, I think" - 7/10

It feels ambiguous to me… is he saying they intentionally stole his car? Or is he saying that they were with the imposter (which wouldn't be there fault; they didn't know). - 8/10

I'm really not sure and am interested to hear how others read this moment. - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #495. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page