top of page

Day #488: Little Nemo and the Pumpkin Eater

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated November 01, 1925:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNem01905 (NOVEMBER 1, 2021):


In a moment of temporal consonance, this strip was actually published on this day ninety-six years ago! - 1/15

That really excites me! It's fun to think that both McCay's readers and participants in this project are connected across time and space by the first reading experience of this strip. - 2/15

This is, of course, true with every daily transaction, but it is much more pronounced today when the dates of the publication and project thread match. - 3/15

Even though it's one day late for Halloween, I'm always down for a good Halloween theme (it is one of my favourite holidays) so I really enjoyed this one. - 4/15

It was great to see the group come together and really get everyone involved! No one was left out without a costume, no one was singled out by the (implied and impeding) violence of Peter Peter, and no one experience was prioritized over others. - 5/15

I will say though, I was *so excited* to see the group "trick" Pill and Figures (what a "treat" that would've been) that I was bummed by the reversal. - 6/15

This isn't a criticism because I was genuinely surprised that the gang's plot was foiled in the end, but I wanted badly to see Pill and Figures get their comeuppance. - 7/15

I also really appreciated the return of the Candy Kid! He felt perfectly positioned within this strip as a "man on the inside" who did his best to help the group in their scheme. - 8/15

It was a really nice piece of connective tissue to the strips that came before, as well. The CK hasn't been a prominent member of the revival series, so I like how it brougth our mind back to the original experiences. - 9/15

In fact, if you recall, the very first time that Nemo met the Candy Kid involved some rather unfriendly giants… - 10/15

Continuing with this idea of connectivity, the strip also brings us back in contact (through Pill) with Mother Goose! A character who was involved in McCay's work at the NY American's #InTheLandofWonderfulDreams! - 11/15

I find the fact that McCay's work here draws subtle connections to all of the past #LittleNemo series' very cool. - 12/15

Beyond just Nemo, the wake-up panel also connects to McCay's work with #DreamsOfTheRarebitFiend, too! The suggestion that Nemo's nighttime consumption causes his restlessness is an obvious connection. - 13/15

Connection seems to be the large idea for me today and I see it in many places across the strip. I'm interested to see what your readings reveal that mine didn't! - 14/15

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #488. What's yours? - 15/15

bottom of page