top of page

Day #486: Little Nemo and the Cider Mill Case

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated October 18, 1925:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (OCTOBER 30, 2021):


While I was pleased to see Blutch return to this strip, I was less happy to see the number of abuses directed at him throughout. - 1/9

That said, the Princess in particular demonstrates concern over how the "old men" are treating Blutch, which was very nice to see. - 2/9

She has always been one of the more empathetic characters in the series and so I applaud her continued concern for her friends here. - 3/9

I genuinely don't understand the plot of this strip though… why are Flip and Slivvers working undercover to follow Pill and Figures? What's the end game? - 4/9

The penultimate panel is interesting because it suggest that maybe they are doing something shady? As they run away, the Cider Mill Slumberlandian says "they didn't see you!"… as if there really is something to hide? - 5/9

But what is it? What could it be? There is conversation about how much the King likes the cider from the Mill… could they be planning a coup!? - 6/9

Haha, I don't really think that. The point I'm trying to illustrate is that McCay leaves absolutely no evidence for us to even remotely understand the undercover operation that Flip and Slivvers are working on here. - 7/9

Add to this the fact that I almost guarantee that it won't continue into tomorrow it's a frustrating position to put a reader in… - 8/9

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #486. What's yours? - 9/9

bottom of page