top of page

Day #483: Little Nemo and Slivvers' Spiffulator

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated September 27, 1925:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (OCTOBER 27, 2021):


So, I don't really have much good to say here… very little originality that I can see and the staleness of it all just sort of sours whatever fun might be had. - 1/8

We know Slivvers is a great inventor… so his Spiffulator's ability to drive on land, water, and air isn't all that impressive or surprising… - 2/8

The conceit of chasing after the Princess is also so tired by now… I recognize that Pill send the Slumberland cops after them out of fear for her well-being… but again, sort of well worn by now. - 3/8

The gag of moving between the different modes of transport and having the police chasing them change as a result is repetitive and uninteresting to me… - 4/8

Not even the ten blimps and eight planes being launched after them in the penultimate panel really do much for me. - 5/8

The only interesting piece is the wake-up panel and it's connection to McCay's work with "Dreams of the Rarebit Fiend." Even that is only a slant connection based on the eating before bed angle. - 6/8

Obviously, we've had duds before… they can't all be bangers. Am I being overly critical? Honest opinions! - 7/8

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #483. What's yours? - 8/8

bottom of page