top of page

Day #478: Little Nemo Meets Princess Aqua

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated August 23, 1925:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (OCTOBER 22, 2021):


We've seen strips that are very similar to this (slipping on ice/glass floors), but I think that's why I like this one so much; because it comes with a twist. - 1/10

Though the reader knows that the only reason Nemo, the Princess, Pill, and Figures can walk on the water is their special shoes, Impie, Flip, and Slivvers don't. - 2/10

Falling into the water, and causing the ripples that knock down the other fellas is a total shock to them. And why wouldn't it be? They've seen things that look just like this. - 3/10

I think this is part of the reason why Flip cops to the act immediately… he had no intention of causing trouble and so wants it known that it was an accident. - 4/10

I also have to admit that the idea of Neptune's daughter, Aqua, having a starring role is pretty cool. - 5/10

As far as I can tell, "Aqua" was not a mythological daughter of the Roman God of the Sea, which suggests to me that McCay improvised the relationship. - 6/10

But that's ok; I think it works really well. - 7/10

She's also the hero here! She drains the little lake and saves Nemo, Pill, and Figures from a watery demise… though, as always, I wasn't worried about their safety. - 8/10

I do very much enjoy the return (or at least I'm noticing it for the first time in a while) of the blurring between dream and reality through Nemo's falling out of bed. - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #478. What's yours? - 10/10


bottom of page