top of page

Day #476: Little Nemo and the Springboard Shenanigans

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated August 09, 1925:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (OCTOBER 20, 2021):


Here we have another strip that, though it doesn't follow strictly, maintains a relative connection to its preceding strip through the narrative of visiting Neptune. - 1/10

The major conceit is built around Flip, Impie, and Slivvers missing the springboard and, in their hurry, launching without parachutes. - 2/10

As they crash into the water, the fear is that they have died upon impact or drowned. - 3/10

Ultimately, they somehow survive underwater for 30 minutes (it's a dream!) and re-surface riding seahorses. - 4/10

Not much to note here in this strip, but I have a few general observations. - 5/10

First, I'm glad that *everyone* resurfaces on a seahorse; no one is made to seem less-than by being excluded, which was nice. - 6/10

I enjoyed the Princess' little dig at the boys in panel 8. It made me literally laugh at loud. I wish she had more opportunities to be witty! - 7/10

The third tier of this reproduction has some awful "bleeding" (I'm sorry; I can't call it anything else…) that really messed with me for a minute… I legitimately thought McCay had included blood in the comic for the first time! - 8/10

It isn't a register thing (I don't think?) so there must've been some other reproduction error… any thoughts? - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #476. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page