top of page

Day #465: Little Nemo and the... Oh, Excuse Me! I was Looking for Nemo...

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated May 31, 1925:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (OCTOBER 9, 2021):


Wow. This strip is a near incomprehensible mess. - 1/15

I don't mean that to say that it's * impossible* to put the narrative together, but it flows incredibly poorly and leaves numerous questions unanswered. - 2/15

I have so many, in fact, that rather than write a reflection on this one, I'm just going to list my questions… I would love to have some chats about them. - 3/15

Q1: Who is the woman in panel 1? She looks suspiciously like Doctor Pill… his sister, perhaps? - 4/15

Q2: Are she and Figures involved in a public romance or is this an illicit flirtation? The narrative *suggests* a response, I think… - 5/15

Q3: What has triggered Pill to go after Flip *again* after they have been co-existing so well as of late? (I probably could've left this question because it's sort of just standard Nemo fare, but I thought, "why not?"). - 6/15

Q4: Why does Morpheus acquiesce so easily to Pill's demands about Flip? - 7/15

Q5: Why the heck does Pill send Figures to Morpheus to plead for Flip's permission at the party is he was the source of his banishment? - 8/15

Q6 (linked to Q2): Why the heck does Figures even care? Is he afraid Flip will blather about what he saw? Does this suggest Figures has something to hide? - 9/15

Q7: How does Flip know these school children? He's 20+ years old… (unless that's un-speakingly changed, which is entirely possible…). - 10/15

Q8: Panel 8 is very meta. How does Pill read it? Does he read it? Or does Figures say something so shocking that McCay needed to keep it out of the ears and eyes of young readers… scandalous. - 11/15

Q9: Why does Pill go along with this whole plan? Crowning Flip King of the party? He seems to go from not wanting Flip there to joint interest in Figures' plan quickly (even if he does laugh in panel 9). - 12/15

Q10 (linked to Q9): Does this confirm a relationship between the unnamed woman and Doctor Pill? - 13/15

Well, I'm exhausted. It's a lot of unanswered questions... I'm sure I missed some, so add to the list if you have others! Hopefully, we'll all answer a few! Let's speculate. - 14/15

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #465. What's yours? - 15/15

bottom of page