top of page

Day #459: Little Nemo and the Swamp Frog Jazz Band

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated April 19, 1925:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (OCTOBER 03, 2021):


The thing that I dislike the most about the revival series is the static grid because, more often than not, it means that the spatial layout/organization is disconnected from the narrative. - 1/15

While this one is largely the same, the third tier triptych is just amazingly delightful! - 2/15

During the first two tiers, Flip is leading the gang towards what he claims to be a great jazz band -- or the "swellest place" to go! - 3/15

I will admit; I was sceptical of Flip's sincerity at first… I thought this was another trick that he was trying to pull over on the gang and the reader. - 4/15

Part of why this worked so well is that I didn't notice the frog band when I began reading. Iiconic solidarity ("seeing" the entire page as you begin to "read" it) failed in this instance, because the frogs blended so well with the background. - 5/15

For this reason, when I finally did see the frog band begin to appear through the reeds, I was delighted! - 6/15

The triptych in the third tier was such a wonderful surprise! The revealing of the entire nine-piece band across the panels of the page was really special. - 7/15

I think having the gang hop across lily pads was also a really good way to get the group across the page without disrupting the triptych… - 8/15

At least, that's how I read it. Theoretically, it could be the same pad gliding across the page, but I think that is a little less likely. - 9/15

Of course, the fun ends when poor Impie (who was the only one left alone in the dancing) IS TRIPPED by Flip… when he hits the water, the frogs are frightened off. - 10/15

Nemo blames Impie saying that he tripped on Flip after Slivvers dips him, but I read it as the dip tripping Impie. Therefore, the end of the fun is Slivvers and Flip's fault, NOT Impie's. - 11/15

It continues to be irksome seeing Impie be blamed for things… I wonder if anyone else reads this moment as suggested by Nemo? - 12/15

That said, the penultimate panel is quite brilliant, as well. I love the embedded gestural action represented as the frogs hop over the gang into the swamp. - 13/15

The looks on their faces (both the frogs and the gang) is quite delightful, as well! It really makes the strip a memorable addition to this otherwise lacklustre series. - 14/15

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #459. What's yours? - 15/15

bottom of page