top of page

Day #453: March is the Windiest Month of the Year

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated March 08, 1925:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (SEPTEMBER 18, 2021):


This strip seems like filler to me… but it's filler that allows McCay the opportunity to draw some super cool scenes and details! - 1/10

When the gang goes hunting for rabbits the shotgun wakes up the personification of March (Slivvers warns us the gun kicks, but Flip knows best haha) who blows them around the comic until they land back in Slumberland. - 2/10

It's a simple concept and nothing really happens as the hunting shack blows around the panels. But we do get some really awesome details! - 3/10

I particularly like panel 5, which I read as the bare trees that have had their leaves blown off them straining against the gale force wind of March's breath! - 4/10

It's hard to read this strip and *not* think of the Wizard of Oz… Sure, they don't land on a witch, but they sure do crash through the Palace ceiling! - 5/10

Whether it's a direct allusion or not is probably up for debate (I don't think it is to be honest), but it could certainly said to have been inspired by it. - 6/10

By now, the stories were 25-year old classic children's stories so even if it was an indirect inspiration I feel as though it's safe to draw the connection. - 7/10

The spatial structure is very traditional, which seems a bit of a missed opportunity here. That said, I do recognize that McCay had a lot of detail work scattered around the page so I can forgive the uninteresting layout. - 8/10

I don't have much else to say about this one, so I hope that some of you have some thoughts to share! Looking forward to hearing them! - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #453. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page