top of page

Day #451: Flip's Trip in the Coal Hole

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated February 22, 1925:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (SEPTEMBER 16, 2021):


I'll admit that this is one of the first strips that we've seen digitized that I found incredibly difficult to read… - 1/10

The colours are all washed and the text is a bit unclear… that said, it's pretty easy to follow the narrative from the visuals. - 2/10

This is another strip that just… confuses me. Where did the Victoria era costumes come from? What's with the powdered wigs? - 3/10

Professor Figures is set to give a lecture today and Flip and Slivvers are not invited… of course, this leads to them causing chaos as they try to become involved. - 4/10

It reads to me like an early #InTheLandofWonderfulDreams strip… we haven't seen Flip's exclusion like this is quite some time. - 5/10

Of course, Impie is also entirely missing from the strip. I don't get it… we've seen Impie be permitted to the most royal of events (dinner with the king) but he's excluded here? - 6/10

It's true that the lecture probably wouldn't have been any fun… but it’s the principle. Flip and Slivvers likely won't enjoy it either, yet they fight to be included. - 7/10

It is indicative of the game of inclusion/exclusion that was being played historically at the time through segregation, but also in the narrative… whenever there is an exclusion, it is almost always Impie. - 8/10

I'll admit the detailing that we see throughout the strip is pretty impressive (particularly the carriages). I wish that it wasn't marred by the colouring errors we see here; I imagine it was quite impressive at publication. - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #451. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page