top of page

Day #439: Flip Gets Twenty-One Years of Bad Luck

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated November 30, 1924:

Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (SEPTEMBER 4, 2021):


For the most part, I find this strip repetitive and underwhelming. On top of that, Flip's treatment of Impie (as compared to Slivvers) is very problematic. - 1/13

First, the gag repeats itself three times… I understand that the repetition is part of the set-up for the penultimate panel (when Flip decides he is no longer willing to risk more bad luck to catch Impie and Blutch)… - 2/13

…but it means that more than half the strip is filled with very predictable panel content one after another… not even Dr. Pill and Figures appearance can inject any flavour into the strip. - 3/13

I'll admit that the penultimate panel was a surprise… Morpheus' response to Impie and Blutch appearing at the dinner was pleasant and his willingness to let them stay was very welcome! - 4/13

Particularly after the first tier of the strip that sees Flip exclude Impie because he doesn't have dress clothes… only to turn around and offer Slivvers some dress clothes… what gives? - 5/13

I mean… are we to believe Flip only has one other pair of clothes? It's possible… I guess. But why Slivves and not Impie? - 6/13

Maybe he chooses Slivvers over Impie because of Impie's history of mischief? Who knows? Flip doesn't give an explanation. - 7/13

Either way, it results in Impie's exclusion. No one, including Flip, thought to offer Impie something else to wear in order to attend… and, in the end, Morpheus didn't even care. - 8/13

I'm not sure what to make of this all… I think that it might be possible to read this as commentary about racist/segregationist 1920s policies. - 9/13

The racism of segregation suggested that Black Americans were unsuitable for integration into White American society, yet here we have the king saying "what do I care, let them come in!!". - 10/13

I think it might be giving McCay too much credit to say that was an intended reading, but I am constantly impressed by his ability to subtly build political commentary into this work, so it's possible… - 11/13

There are other readings here, for sure, so I'm interested to hear what you all think about this and others. - 12/13

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #439. What's yours? - 13/13


bottom of page