top of page

Day #427: Little Nemo's Welcome Parade Strikes

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated September 07, 1924:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (AUGUST 23, 2021):


With this strip, it would seem as though Winsor is falling into a bit of a formal rut… this is now the third strip in a row that doesn't vary then panel organization; its been the same layout for weeks now. - 1/14

Truthfully, I think this is one strip that might've benefitted from a lesser panel density… it feels very crowded to me… there is a lot stuffed in here and it might have been wiser to pare it down a bit. - 2/14

For instance, Impie tripping over the rudder in panel 2 is superfluous… and even panel 3 adds very little to the strip… take those two panels away and Winsor would've had a lot more room to play with! - 3/14

That's just a personal quibble, though. Your mileage may vary, of course! - 4/14

I really enjoyed the return of winged transport! Again, this feels like a callback to the oldest days of #LittlNemo's existence! - 5/14

It's surprising that Nemo is so shocked by the fact that Flip will fly the goose! He has ridden astride the back of birds before in Slumberland (Even a goose, I think, though I couldn't find that exact strip to sample): - 6/14

I'm also quite curious about the Princess' response here… she tells Nemo, "he flies all over with it" and in panel 3, "that parachute of Flip's…works…I've seen it". - 7/14

I think this could be read in two different ways… first, it might suggest that while Nemo is awake things in Slumberland continue on without him. Second, it could suggest that life in Slumberland went on while Nemo was away for 10 years? - 8/14

Whichever interpretation you ascribe too (or maybe even a different one), what strikes me here is that we have an example of world building that simply hasn't been present in the work since McCay left the Herald in 1911. - 9/14

As many of you *might* remember (it has been a while), I love thinking about these unanswerable questions and contemplating how the different interpretions that we all have factor into the way we view the work and the world. - 10/14

Unanswerables mean that you can use your inferencing based on evidence presented to create your own understanding… and, even if it drastically differs from someone elses, if there is evidence to support it… you're still right! - 11/14

I'm excited to see that return here and really hope that it is something McCay maintains throughout the remaining 122 strips that are left! - 12/14

There's more to discuss, but I'd rather hear your takes on it so I'm going to end my thread here. Looking forward to what you all have to say about this one! - 13/14

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #427. What's yours? - 14/14

bottom of page