top of page

Day #392: Impie Improves on the Lilliputian Circus

"In the Land of Wonderful Dreams" dated July 13, 1913:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (JULY 13, 2021):


I have very little to say about this strip. I think the strip basically says all that needs to be said in panel 10. - 1/12

Had the gang not excluded Impie, Impie would have caused no harm. He did not intend for the seats to break, but they also weren't designed for giants… had Impie been included from the beginning he'd have been in a position not to break them. - 2/12

While the Princess voices my feelings (and likely those of many other modern-day readers), Doctor Pill speaks with the voice of segregation and Jim Crow laws. - 3/12

I think that this strip could be a very useful socio-historic artefact to help young students better understand the era of racial segregation. - 4/12

We can both read *with* this strip (the Princess' feelings are my own), but also *against* the strip (racial simian slurs, exclusion/segregation, racism, etc.). - 5/12

This creates quite a difficult collaborative experience for readers; how do we balance these competing experiences? Well, I think that we discuss and read them both ways. - 6/12

It would be interesting to use the destabilization of the circus resultant from racial segregation as a metaphor for America in the 21st century. The removal of the centre post that brings down the tent could be likened to attempts at demolishing structural racism within the country. - 7/12

Similarly, the racism presented by those proponents of the segregation seen in this strip creates an opportunity to learn more about Jim Crow laws and what that looked like in the historic moment. - 8/12

Truly, this strikes me as the strips true value… For me (at least), it's function today relies upon it's usefulness in anti-racist education. - 9/12

On a different note, I believe that this is the first time that our dates have aligned. Exactly 108 years ago today, this strip was published. - 10/12

I find this a really interesting temporal coincidence that was bound to happen eventually. I think it's a neat way to bridge the divide between the centuries and connect to a time that feels like a foreign land. - 11/12

This is my reading of "In the Land of Wonderful Dreams" #392. What's yours? - 12/12

bottom of page