top of page

Day #358: Aladdin's Lamp Causes More Confusion

"In the Land of Wonderful Dreams" dated October 6, 1912:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (JUNE 8, 2021):


This strip reminds me of a really, really, *really* watered down Befuddle Hall strip (at least in panel content). The first strip of the multi-strip series can be found here: - 1/17

Where Befuddle Hall dealt with questions of formal manipulation, this strip manipulates only the panel content while leaving the formal spatial structure intact. - 2/17

It's obviously much more rigid than the fluid manipulations that we saw in Befuddle Hall, but I'm not saying it doesn't work. - 3/17

I actually kind of like the juxtaposition between the stable organization of the panels and the 180-degree flip that the room takes in the third and fourth tier. It emphasizes the chaotic fall of our friends. - 4/17

There is also a really fun extra layer of temporal manipulation built into those tiers. - 5/17

You can easily get a sense of just how quickly those panels move based on where/when their feet leave the floor and where/when their backs and butts meet the ceiling. - 6/17

Obviously, the reader is able to pace this as they wish, but there is a neat coded suggestion in there that I find fascination. This is nothing new or innovative in comics, but it stands out to me in this moment. - 7/17

Narratively, we return to more Aladdin and his magic lamp. This time, Aladdin freely hands over his lamp to Doctor Pill (whose attempts to use it go horribly wrong) and Impie (who uses it rather effectively). - 8/17

Impie seems to be able to control the lamp in a way that Pill can't and even (maybe) with more prowess than Flip did back two strips ago. - 9/17

Of course, these things could just be happening at random… we don't really know? The strip doesn't provide an answer. - 10/17

In essence, both readings can simultaneously exist here. Either Impie is a talented magic user or he is just getting lucky. Is there a third option? What do you all think? - 11/17

Anyway, I think it is chasing Impie that really sparks the whole topsy-turvy room thing. My reading is that Impie has that happen as a sort of defense mechanism… a way to certainly not escape, but maybe get an advantage? - 12/17

Other than the chase and the racial slur in panel 8, Flip is pretty calm with Impie. When he finally catches him, he chastises him, but he does so fairly calmly. - 13/17

His final lines in panel 11 were not what I expected as I was reading them. When I started reading "Look a Here, kid! I want to tell you something." I was expecting an insult to follow… - 14/17

But, it didn't come… instead Flip says, "Don't do this again" which surprised me quite a bit. That said, I thought it was a positive step towards some more character growth for Flip. - 15/17

I'll just end by saying that, even though I don't understand how it's taken so long to suggest this, whichever of Nemo's parents suggested he sleep on the floor deserves a medal. - 16/17

This is my reading of "In the Land of Wonderful Dreams" #357. What's yours? - 17/17

bottom of page