top of page

Day #345: An Encounter with Old Daddy Neptune

"In the Land of Wonderful Dreams" dated July 14, 1912:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (MAY 26, 2021):


A water-themed narrative? Roman gods emerging from the depths? Mermaids? A GREEN FLIP?! This strip has it all! - 1/13

Seriously, I can't really talk about this strip before we discuss entirely green Flip… I really wish I knew if this was a colouring guffaw or if McCay *actually* wanted him coloured green like this. - 2/13

Though we don't know much about the colouring process at the NY American (well, at least I don't..), we do know that McCay was meticulous about his work with Alfred B. Hunt over at the Herald. - 3/13

I can't imagine that he's stopped with the notes over the years; once a perfectionist always a perfectionist. - 4/13

That said… we textual evidence of this inconsistency. Back in the old Herald strips, we had similar meetings with mermaids! - 5/13

As you can CLEARLY see, only Flip's face is green here… the rest of his body is white. - 6/13

Now, one *might* argue that the Herald's past is, potentially, irrelevant because Nemo's new life at Hearst's paper could signal a totally new take. - 7/13

It's a fair argument… Admittedly, more often than not, Flip's hands are in his pocket, it's possibl… but WAIT: - 8/13

Not TWO STRIPS AGO Flip had his hands out of his pockets and they are not green (see panel 5). - 9/13

What are we to make of this? Are we happy chalking it up to simple inconsistency and moving on… or is there another potential reading here? - 10/13

I have some thoughts, but I'm going to leave that as an open ended question for all of you to ponder. Looking forward to hearing what you think! - 11/13

There are a few other things that stand out to me, but I think I'll leave it here and open the floor to you folks! - 12/13

This is my reading of "In the Land of Wonderful Dreams" #345. What's yours? - 13/13

bottom of page