top of page

Day #343: The Children of the Old Lady Who Lived in a Shoe Has Mumps

"In the Land of Wonderful Dreams" dated June 30, 1912:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (MAY 23, 2021):


This nursery rhyme was easily recognizable for me today! Though I didn't actually know the original verses, my mom and I used to repeat a variation of it to each other all the time! - 1/15

One of us would ask, "What do you do when you live in a shoe?" and the other would reply, "Gather your loot and move to a boot!". - 2/15

When I was much younger, I remember asking her once where it came from and she told me the nice version (not the one with the whipping) of the rhyme that her mom had told her. - 3/15

All that said, I feel for her and all her poor little children with mumps! This drama takes up the first two tiers and is pretty chaotic! - 4/15

The Princess and Nemo disappear pretty fast to prevent Nemo from the misfortune of catching his first case of the mumps! The Princess tells us in panel 7 that she has had it before and is therefore safe. - 5/15

Flip also claims to have had it previously, and so decides to help Doctor Pill round up and give the children medicine. - 6/15

This is a HUGE about face from earlier in the NY American series, where the two were constantly at each others' throats. It's interesting to see them work together towards a common goal. - 7/15

Impie also sticks around, but apparently sometime between panel 3 ad 4, he admits to Flip that he's never had mumps and Flip tells him to skedaddle! But… he doesn't listen. - 8/15

As a reader, I immediately figured that Impie was going to get mumps. It was being set up as just another example of having something unfortunate and uncomfortable befall Impie and I was ready to be (I think rightly) cheesed off about it… - 9/15

But, apparently Flip never had the mumps… he had the MEASLES and misremembered… As the Princess and Nemo hide from the children with mumps, Pill comes running to tell us that FLIP CAUGHT MUMPS! WHAT A TWIST!- 10/15

Pretty soon, we see that Impie, Flip… and even NEMO have caught mumps. Unfortunately, Doctor Pill is out of pills… and so we're left wondering what will happen to them as Nemo wakes up! - 11/15

The real question is… does Nemo have mumps in the waking world?! The wake-up panel seems to suggest that he has some pain in his jaw/neck and, at the very least, provides support for believing that he's caught the illness. - 12/15

I'll just finish by saying that I found the Princess' concern for Nemo in panel 7 very touching. She tells us that she didn't need to run away, but that she was concerned about Nemo catching Mumps. - 13/15

Not that I think she would've done much to help Pill anyway (a Princess getting her hands dirty like that? Even our Princess probably wouldn't behave that way), but it was a really nice moment between the two of them. - 14/15

This is my reading of "In the Land of Wonderful Dreams" #343. What's yours? - 15/15

bottom of page