top of page

Day #266: Little Nemo's Reception Committee

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated November 13, 1910:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (MARCH 3, 2021):


Let's get one thing straight to start; not a single one of our friends today deserve a Welcome Committee after the way they treat Impie. - 1/10

Each one of them disparages him and treats him poorly… Nemo first, then Flip, and finally the Captain. Each one is worse than the last as we watch Impie be relocated from a place of prominence on the rail to one well behind the other three. - 2/10

Panels 4 and 5 are just heartbreaking… in 4, Impie just stares out back towards the last three panels (and his mistreatment) as if to relive/see those moments again in order to better understand why he's being mistreated… - 3/10

In panel 5, he looks towards the reader as if to ask the question that he couldn't find an answer to in the previous panel… What just happened? Why do they treat me like this? - 4/10

This meta-reading had me quite affected when I first read the strip… I stopped for a minute and really looked at his facial expression in both panels. - 5/10

I felt immediately as though *not* commenting about/calling out his mistreatment would implicate me in the event. Though very likely not meant to be interpreted as such, I read his gaze towards me as a call to continue standing-up against racial discrimination. - 6/10

This moment casts a long shadow over the strip for me… it is powerful and affective; so much so that the remainder of the strip loses it's power for me. - 7/10

I care very little for Nemo's Welcome Committee, the glorious NY polyptych in the top tier, the many airships, or even the humour involved in the fact that he's given the key to the city (and doesn't understand what that is). - 8/10

There have been worse moments of racial or ethnic discrimination peppered throughout McCay's #LittleNemo, but this one is unique… it's raw, impactful, and emotional. - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #266. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page