top of page

Day #194: Little Nemo and the Waterfall Rapids

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated June 27, 1909:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (DECEMBER 13, 2020):


Well, after all the excitement of the last couple strips this one tosses some cold water on the fun… literally! - 1/9

There really isn't a ton to discuss here that I can see… The most noticeable difference here is that we've moved back to a higher panel count. - 2/9

This allows for a bit more dramatic build-up as the water begins to rise. Which plays well alongside Nemo's fading confidence that the water is not going to harm them. - 3/9

Flip is positive that the water has been sent by the Dancing Missionary to drown him out, while the Professor is pretty scared from the get-go, saying "I want to go home". - 4/9

Nemo though begins quite certain that the water is no threat to them before starting to get frightened in panel 8. I really like how Nemo's newfound bravado holds out for a while here, but eventually he succumbs to more traditionally Nemo behaviour. - 5/9

As I often do mention, I really love McCay's water. For me, it's enough to make this strip worth it. The waterfall and the rapids are spectacular! - 6/9

I'm interested to know where they're headed and what the actual purpose of this water is… is it to get them to that whirlpool? Maybe it's a drain? Maybe it's taking them somewhere? - 7/9

I guess we'll have to wait and see! - 8/9

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #194. What's yours? - 9/9

bottom of page