top of page

Day #190: If You Build It, Flip Will Come!

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated May 30, 1909:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (DECEMBER 09, 2020):


What I really love about this strip is that it acts as an inverse to the last one; rather then empty space filled panel by panel with architecture, we have architecture torn down panel by panel to emptiness. - 1/10

Independently, they both function just fine, but together, they really stand out and, though they were both good strips before, I think they're truly memorable now. - 2/10

The pacing is, again, really brilliant! The reader is thrown for as big of a loop as Nemo is! - 3/10

We've *just* started reading, still beaming from our excitement at being back in Slumberland at the palace… and it's immediately tugged away from us! - 4/10

The confusion that the Dancing Missionary, Nemo, and the Professor show is just brilliant and mirrors the confusion that the reader likely feels. - 5/10

Now, that isn't to suggest that Flip's arrival is a shock… The Slumberlandian guard in the top tier makes it pretty clear someone "spoils everything" and… who else but Flip? - 6/10

But it is their reaction (the disassembly of the palace) that causes the confusion, I think. - 7/10

Now, I could look this up online, but I'd rather one of my American friends give me the lowdown… what exactly is Memorial Day? - 8/10

It would seem as if the gag here is (at least linguistically) built upon the recognition that it's Memorial Day, but since I'm not exactly sure what that holiday celebrates, I can't make out the joke. - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #190. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page