top of page

Day #183: Little Nemo and the Enormous Hat

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated April 11, 1909:


Transcript of tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (DECEMBER 01, 2020):


This strip is just… really, really weird… from beginning to end. It's weird. - 1/12

Somehow, Nemo and Flip begin inside the jungle of regalia that sit atop Nemo's mothers new enormous hat… searching for Easter eggs. - 2/12

So, this is a holiday strip, too… - 3/12

Apparently, the entire gag of this strip is that Nemo's father goes a bit bonkers after seeing the size of the hat Mrs. Nemo has bought… - 4/12

I don't really get it… I mean, it sure is a big hat… like a really big hat… but I don't know if it's "drive your husband crazy" big… am I missing a joke here or is it as simple as it seems? - 5/12

Does anyone have any idea what is going on with the fella in panel 6? He looks very un-human in his design… I'm not sure whether I'm understanding the caricature here, though… is it ethnic? - 6/12

I'm thinking of @skleefeld's comment the other day about the siminization of the Irish and I'm noticing this fellow is covered in what might be read as "orange fur"… what do others think? - 7/12

There are many of the same formal issues we've seen recently (panel 5's balloon placement is awful), but nothing really stands out as egregious. - 8/12

My final question: Why did Mrs. Nemo (presumably not their real last name, but I digress…) buy this very large hat in the first place? - 9/12

Where in the world… no, *how* in the world could she wear it? - 10/12

Did Nemo just see a lot of hats over the Easter weekend, prompting this dream? Maybe at church? It's just so weird… - 11/12

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #183. What's yours? - 12/12

bottom of page