top of page

Day #173: Little Nemo and the False Fire Alarm

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated January 31, 1909:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (NOVEMBER 21, 2020):


Very, very little of interest for me (personally) in this strip… - 1/15

It's super wordy… which, I guess, one must forgive since the narrative conceit is largely centered around the Professor reading the boys a story. - 2/15

The story, for it's part, is a very problematic one filled with stereotypical representations of Indigenous peoples that as common in the 19th and early 20th century. - 3/15

I'm not exactly sure what to make of the story… Flip seems to know it fairly well; at least enough to anticipate the upcoming battle scene, but I'm not sure what other (if any) connection it has to the comic. - 4/15

The fact that the boys get hosed down because Flip's smoke fill is the tiny cabin is, one must admit, fairly humorous, but it's the penultimate panel that really has me flummoxed… - 5/15

The fire fighter speaks to Flip and references him… by name? This must mean he knows/has some connection to Flip right? - 6/15

You could probably just chalk it up to dream logic… dreamed up characters have access to information about one another from the dreamer, right? - 7/15

But, at least within the dreamscape, it makes one wonder what connection the two have… has Flip had issues with Fire Fighters stemming from his cigar use previously? I wouldn't put it passed him… - 8/15

Most strangely for me, is the feeling of Flip's invasion into the more mundane side of the dreamscape… - 9/15

I suppose this is probably my hang-up… I still see the dreamscape and "Slumberland" as distinct and different… - 10/15

It's likely more accurate to differentiate the "palace" from other realms in "Slumberland" where "Slumberland" and the dreamscape are conflated as one and the same. - 11/15

My point, is that this unnamed fire fighter (the mundane, realistic part of the dreamscape) talking to Flip (the fantastical) as though he knows him is just strange to me. - 12/15

It's a sort of paradox that simultaneous reflects their coming together, while keeping them distinctly unique. - 13/15

It's about the only thing I noticed in the whole strip that interested me, but I'm not positive that it's a fully fleshed out thought… I'll give it more. - 14/15

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated January 31, 1909. What's yours? - 15/15

bottom of page