top of page

Day #171: Two Rolling Boys Gather Snow

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated January 17, 1909:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (NOVEMBER 19, 2020):


So, I don't really have much to say about this strip… - 1/7

Here, we see Nemo and Flip engaged in a wrestling match… which stood out to me as odd. - 2/7

We haven’t really seen Nemo or Flip in a physical stand-offs before and, though this is play-wrestling, the physicality of it still struck me as unexpected… - 3/7

Even though the "falling down a hill and tumbling into a massive snowball" is a bit cliché by today's standards, I still enjoyed it. Especially when it launched off the house and smashed in panel 19! - 4/7

Now, I also really like tier 3… I'm not sure what's going on (aside from the promotional billboard for the operetta), but the juxtaposition between the absurd and the mundane was fun. - 5/7

I have a vague feeling that the characters are meant to be allusions of some sort… but I have no idea who they'd be… just a hunch. Maybe someone can help out? - 6/7

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #171. What's yours? - 7/7

bottom of page