top of page

Day #152: Flip's Loco Goes Loco

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated September 06, 1908:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (OCTOBER 31, 2020):


With this strip, combined with some of the really fantastic observations made by other participants in this project, I'm really starting to get the sense that McCay has a thing for destruction… - 1/10

This strip, which features a really gorgeous train engine that can run without tracks, is filled with it! By my count 8 out of 12 panels feature some form of disaster (from a breaking a fence to the drowning the engine itself). - 2/10

We've talked a few times about the plentiful examples of McCay's destructive tendencies in #DreamOfTheRarebitFiend and even #LittleSammySneeze is centred around the destructive nature of the little boys sternutation. - 3/10

What I find most interesting about this strip is that it's destruction by addition as opposed to the singular large scale devastation that we normally see… - 4/10

What I mean by this is that each panel features only one instance of something being destroyed… when you combine them all, Flip and his engine has likely caused costly and significant damage… - 5/10

…, but, taken individually, they don't seem nearly as egregious as past examples have demonstrated. - 6/10

I sort of like the underlying commentary here about leaving destruction in your wake. It's an important lesson for young people to learn and something that I think this strip demonstrates well. - 7/10

I feel for poor Impie who isn't riding inside the train, but rather sitting on the pilot right out front. I certainly hope this is by choice and not because Flip won't let him inside (which we've seen in past strips)… though I'm not willing to bet on it… - 8/10

While this is ultimately a pretty simplistic strip, I actually really enjoy it. It's one of my favourite from this current arc and think that it's simplicity actually makes it highly successful! - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #152. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page