top of page

Day #135: Flip's Auto Halts the Parade

"Little Nemo in Slumberland" dated May 10, 1908:


Transcript of Tweets by @LittleNemo1905 (OCTOBER 9, 2020):


There is some continuity here from last strip (particularly narrative continuity), but it also raises some questions, I think… - 1/10

First off, why has the background changed? Did Flip get the auto going again since we last saw it (explode) in the middle of the road? - 2/10

Also, I know that Nemo and Mary walked away last strip (in an identical manner to how they're walking away in the penultimate panel here, I might add)… - 3/10

Does that explain the new setting? Did Flip's car just breakdown in front of them again? I'm unsure… - 4/10

Nemo seems to be really interested in impressing Mary, which I actually find adorable… Maybe it's because I met my wife so young (and spent many a moons trying to impress her, myself) or maybe it's just because it foregrounds the wackiness of the parade. - 5/10

I like that they two sort of continue their conversation in spite of all the antics happening below… While Nemo says that this parade "will beat" any she'd ever seen, the crowd trying to deal with the auto problem just becomes more congested… - 6/10

When the car finally does blow, Nemo and Mary just casually walk away while people are flying this way and that way… it reminds me of Hugh Jackman walking slowly away from an explosion, just… you know… Less cool? - 7/10

I'm interested to hear others' take on this series (it's a WEEKS long series with many more coming up), but I personally find them repetitive, monotonous, and not all together that interesting… - 8/10

Hopefully, together, we can have the strips reveal some more interesting interpretations, hmm? - 9/10

This is my reading of "Little Nemo in Slumberland" #135. What's yours? - 10/10

bottom of page